Newbie looking to buy first EMTB

JimWantsToRideEMTB

Sep 16, 2020
Northern California
Hi all! I'm new to MTB - started riding as a way to get out during the pandemic and been at it for all of 3 months. Absolutely loving it, wish I had gotten into this when I was younger (now 45, but looking to feel younger with this sport!). Riding an entry level hard tail Coop DRT1.1.

I'm in the San Francisco Bay Area, and my first attempt at riding a "real" mountain bike trail (Water Dog lake park in Belmont, rated a blue on trailforks.com) was sooo awesome but totally kicked my ass; I had to walk the bike twice up the ascent and once at the top I was so tired that I had a crash due to exhaustion at one point. I figured I'm just getting into this sport and just need to improve my skills, but after watching a ton of youtube videos on emtbs, I'm sold - I'll be able to have so much more enjoyment with an emtb.

So, I'm looking to get my first emtb and looking for advice and suggestions. I'm new to MTB but loved my one "real" mountain trail and I definitely want to do more of that. I don't see myself getting so into this sport that I'll be doing huge jumps or anything, but I think I'd want to get up to black diamond trails at some point. My budget is $2500USD, I can maaaaaaybe stretch it up to $3000. I've been looking for used emtbs but haven't seen a lot available, and what I've seen are in the $5500 offered at $3900 range - still outside my budget.

I'd really enjoy a thumb throttle for just cruising around, but I've only seen thumb throttle options on cheaper $1500 emtbs like this eAhora. So maybe throttles aren't for real emtbs?

Anyways, would appreciate any suggestions and advice!

Al Boneta

Dark Rider
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 18, 2018
California
Instead of suggestions all you are going to get on this forum is opinions and personal bias. Myself included.
The best advice I can give you is to test ride a bunch of bikes and see what feels the best to you.