New member looking for first bike

Turbo Dave

Jan 16, 2020
Uk
Hello all

I am a middle aged man looking at getting my first e bike
I have watched alot of reviews but cannot really demo anything except a levo and near me and with work constraints don't want to waste full days driving miles to test.

My wife has a trance e2 which I do like however I would prefer a large

Im 5"10 103kg
I would say my Max budget is 5500

Bikes I have in mind
Levo
Cube stereo 160 action or tm
Giant trance e0 or 1
Giant reign

I have ridden all these around car parks and all felt the same tbh as I have very little experience a bike feels like a bike so to speak
My budget is 5500 max
The bike will be kept for 3 years and used to
Trail centres
And forest paths etc I want something that will last me that time and not want an upgrade to quick as I gain confidence/abilty

My skill level is low not jumped much before but not afraid to have a go or drop off stuff I'm a builder so u can imagine I'm a lump and land hard lol

Any advise input appreciated

ggx

Dec 10, 2018
Sintra
All good bikes.
All I can say is I had a 2019 Cube 160 size S and now a 2020 140 Cube M size and I´m more than happy with it. Very good bang for the buck.

KennyB

E*POWAH Master
Aug 25, 2019
Taunton
I have a Comp Levo 2020 that I bought from my LBS, 5 min away. They lent me their demo 2019 Levo Carbon Comp for 3 days so I could have a proper test. Having lived with the Levo for 3+ months my advice is:
Buy from a good LBS that has a good relationship with the supplier. I have had 2 issues, bent saddle and fork compression not "right" new saddle authorised by Specialized from a photograph and fork serviced by SRAM.
Levo Comp is great out of the box, no need to change anything.

Turbo Dave

Jan 16, 2020
Uk
Would u say that bigger travel is overkill for me or is there an option amount for my type of use and weight