New hip blues

nickw1965

Patreon
Sep 26, 2018
Aldershot,Hampshire
So this weekend is looking like a scorcher.Had a full hip replacement last Wednesday and already missing my ebike.Told I will be on crutches for 6 weeks then some chance of light cycling.
Don’t suppose any other members on here who may have had the op.I recon in a couple more weeks I would be mobile enough for a gentle ride ?.Maybe not my local Swinley though

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
I love your motivation! :)

I'm not a doctor, but I do have occasional problems with my back that stop me even walking for days, and as for riding a bike - that could be weeks! :eek:
I'd give it a go on an exercise bike before you ride outdoors. Your muscles will be weaker, and maybe your tendons and ligaments will have been well f#cked over too and need some gentle stretching. It will give you the opportunity to test the range of movement in your hip in an easy and safe manner. I'm willing to bet that your general fitness has taken a hit as well! :(

A little bit of patience will work wonders for you, and the last thing you need right now is to fall off and damage that hip! :cry:

Best of luck with your recovery! :)

nickw1965

Patreon
Sep 26, 2018
Aldershot,Hampshire
Steve
Luckily I have a spinning bike which I intend to do some light work on.Don’t intend to go against surgeons advise but feel my recovery is progressing at a fast rate.Complete all my daily exercises with ease and tapering off pain killers sooner than recommend.
I can hear my Scott egenius calling me from garage.Watching emtb footage on YouTube not exactly helping ?

HikerDave

Feb 9, 2019
Tempe
So this weekend is looking like a scorcher.Had a full hip replacement last Wednesday and already missing my ebike.Told I will be on crutches for 6 weeks then some chance of light cycling.