Mountain biking since 1982

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
My height ridden and mileage covered have been declining for the last 4 years (knee problems). Since my first emtb (4 weeks now), I have stopped that trend and I hope to reverse it during the rest of this year. And more importantly, riding more miles with friends. :D

Al Boneta

Dark Rider
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 18, 2018
California
I started riding mountain bikes in 1990, because I needed more cardio training for BMX racing and road bikes were so goddamed boring.
Now at 43, Emtbs have made mountain biking more fun than it’s ever been

Akiwi

🐸 Kermit Elite 🐸
Feb 6, 2019
Olching, Germany
1982! Holy cow, that is a while ago! I was on a horrible road bike.. probably a 10 speed back then. Got my first MTB in about 1987 I guess. an Eclipse despatcher. Still riding that one as a train station bike. The geometry is horrible.

HikerDave

Feb 9, 2019
Tempe
1982! Holy cow, that is a while ago! I was on a horrible road bike.. probably a 10 speed back then. Got my first MTB in about 1987 I guess. an Eclipse despatcher. Still riding that one as a train station bike. The geometry is horrible.

Bikes have gotten a lot better; I’m old but not a retro-grouch. My first mountain bike was a Jamis Dakota bought in a backpacking store because most real bike shops thought that mountain bikes were toys.

Akiwi

🐸 Kermit Elite 🐸
Feb 6, 2019
Olching, Germany
Bikes have gotten a lot better; I’m old but not a retro-grouch. My first mountain bike was a Jamis Dakota bought in a backpacking store because most real bike shops thought that mountain bikes were toys.
Yep, there was some resistance to them. Like there was / is to eMtbs!?
I got mine from some small underground bike shop in London when I was working there. I just remember having to go down stairs into a cellar.

Webike

E*POWAH Master
Dec 13, 2018
San Luis Obispo County