Most durable drivetrain parts for an Ebike?

TheBikePilot

🎥SHOOTER🎥
Patreon
Author
Oct 9, 2018
Clapham, London
I put a steel Shimano Cassette with a SRAM Hub adapter on and it's been faultless so far after 600 miles.

When I changed my chain at the wear indicator previously it was slipping under load. Plan on just running the chain until the gears start slipping and change the cassette and chain at the same time..I bank on about 1200 miles per drivetrain.

Will report on progress :)

Rusty

E*POWAH BOSS
Jul 17, 2019
New Zealand
On which hollow pin chains do you experience that they crush?
To my experience (from analogue bikes however since I’m pretty new to eMTB) the SRAM Eagle XO1 hollow pin is a workhorse that has exceeded my expectations by far in durability.
Haven't tried the Eagle XO1 chain as have sold my SingleSpeed bikes but I went through maybe 5-6 chains before deciding solid plates and pins is best for my size. I figure the torque and power from an ebike would be similar to climbing with the SS.

TheBikePilot

🎥SHOOTER🎥
Patreon
Author
Oct 9, 2018
Clapham, London
Haven't tried the Eagle XO1 chain as have sold my SingleSpeed bikes but I went through maybe 5-6 chains before deciding solid plates and pins is best for my size. I figure the torque and power from an ebike would be similar to climbing with the SS.

Have you got a link to a chain with those links?

Rusty

E*POWAH BOSS
Jul 17, 2019
New Zealand
KMC X11 EPT
There are several KMC chains but this one seems to last well enough.

SRAM GX Eagle 12sp
This is mid level for the SRAM Eagle series. The higher level ones have hollow pins so I stay away from them. The next level down NX Eagle seems a bit clunky with shifting and while 1/3 cheaper seems to give less kms before needing replacing.

TheBikePilot

🎥SHOOTER🎥
Patreon
Author
Oct 9, 2018
Clapham, London
KMC X11 EPT
There are several KMC chains but this one seems to last well enough.

SRAM GX Eagle 12sp