Hey, I can still wheelie as when I was a kid, almost!

ULEWZ

Nov 27, 2018
Northridge, Ca
The wife and I took our 27 pound Tracers into the backyard to practice bunny hops. We watch all the videos, and they make it look soooooo easy. We want to be able to jump and have fun. I practiced bunny hops like I was 12 again, and could go clear a stick, but not much height. So I started practicing wheelies. Wow, pretty easy on a 27 pound bike. I could find the balance point and got to about 20 feet. The wife was pissed, as she could only manage 2 feet. I was a wheelie king as a kid and could wheelie for miles, but as a senior, not so much. But still fun. Then I practiced manuals, Not very good at those. maybe 2 feet off the ground, and not much more, for less than 2 feet long. So what do I have to show for all this practice, a pulled a groin muscle, aching neck, and exhausted arms. Where did my 20s go?

I am left with the following questions, how do you go over a jump with your wheel up high, and then point it back down?
By arm position, pulling or pushing, or standing up or sitting down?

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
I am left with the following questions, how do you go over a jump with your wheel up high, and then point it back down?

That depends on why the front wheel is high in the first place.
If it's high because you were hanging off the back on take off you need to bring your body forwards in the air to nose back in.
If it's high because you sucked it up by bending your arms you need to re-extend them to nose it in.
if it's high because it's a very steep lip it will come back nose in just by staying neautral.
A more advanced rider can allow the front wheel to come up high while extended and neutral then bring the front down using the rear brake in the air.

NEVER JUMP SITTING DOWN.