Hey guys! Please help me choose my first ebike!

FROGGYBEARS

Jul 12, 2020
STAFFORD
Hey all! So here goes.. Im about to purchase my first ebike as im stuggling on the uphills. Right now im just riding around Cannock Chase trails but really want to get into more downhill trails/jumps like Bike park Wales, albeit nothing major! I'm a amateur but im fairly confident and will give most reasonable things a try! I dont enjoy technical climbs up rocky paths etc, i just want the motor to help me get up fire roads and hills on the trails. My riding will be a mixed bag of everything though i guess, although i don't enjoy flat trails and uphills that much and always looking for the down parts! My budget is very low at 3k (not very flexible) and i have made the following shortlist, (with discounts applied)

Vitus E-sommet base model (e7000) £2.8k
Vitus E-escarpe base model (e7000) £2.8k
CUBE STEREO HYBRID 160 HPC SL 625 27.5 £3250
Pre-owned Vitus E-sommet Vrs £2800 which is like new but no warranty (which scares the crap out of me as i dont have loads of spare cash for new motors etc)

I feel maybe the cube is the best Value with components but after sitting on one it felt abit chunky and maybe the position doesn't lend itself to fast downhill trails and jumping ? Whereas the Vitus bikes look more like a normal frame size bike with better geometry? hope that doesnt sound stupid! I havnt rode any of them and doesnt look like i will be able to at the mo! your option would be MUCH appreciated, and if you could recommend anything else please do! Thanks for your time! Sam.

Zimmerframe

MUPPET
Subscriber
Jun 12, 2019
Brittany, France
It's difficult to say for sure as we all want/like different things.

The Sommet for instance is light and well thought out, but personally for me, I wouldn't go for an e7000.