Going mullet on Mondraker

rafaellop

Dec 8, 2020
Poland
I've preordered the Crafty R 2021 in the M size. The bike is 29" but I'm not very tall (176 cm / 5.9") so that I prefer to use mullet setup in my bikes. I've been riding the mixed wheels for two years now and this setup gives me more confidence and fun, but the most importantly the rear wheel doesn't kick my butt on steep terrain or when doing some drops. Now regarding the whole Mondraker's forward geometry and the Zero system what do you think about mulletting the 29er. I know how the geo will be affected but maybe some of you guys have tried this on a Mondraker's bike and could share opinion? Cheers!

Eddy Current

E*POWAH Master
Oct 20, 2019
NORTH Spain
Offset bushing for the shock frame end, pointing outward. I don’t remember if it’s 160/150 suspension if so you need to go 150 on the fork. With that you will maintain the geometry if is that what you want.

rafaellop

Dec 8, 2020
Poland
Before my bike arrives I'd like to pick up a coil shock for my Mando Crafty R so maybe some someone knows what shock would fit the frame to get 160 mm travel? The stock is 205 eye to eye and 65 stroke but there is no 205/70 or 67.5 stroke offers on the market which would help me to get more travel here. So I found a 225/70 and maybe it would fit in the mullet setup when there's more place with the 27.5 wheel at the rear end without frame collision, what do you think? Or maybe some other solution? I'd like to convert my mullet to 160 rear, 170 front and a -1 or -1.5 angleset. It looks great on numbers this way, but ...

Last edited:

scooby82r

Aug 15, 2020
Manchester, England