Giant Trance E+1 or E+2

bullet

Jan 18, 2019
Somerset UK
Performance Fox fork on the E+1 and Sram rather than Rhythm & Shimano on the E+2
I'm looking to buy one of these....
Prefer the look of the blue E+2, but if convinced the extra £300 is worth it will go for the orange E+1.
Comments / experience of these two e-bikes would be much appreciated.
Ta in advance....

RobNevyn

E*POWAH Master
Patreon
Nov 19, 2018
Central Coast NSW Australia
If you can afford the extra budget I believe it is better to go the spec of the E+1 but I may be a bit biased. I also prefer the blue colour but the spec was more important to me.
If you are someone who likes to upgrade parts, then maybe the E+2 is the way to go if you plan on swapping out the shock/fork/brakes.

bullet

Jan 18, 2019
Somerset UK
thank you for responses to date. I am a novice really, quantocks in somerset but certainly the bumpy trails rather that high degree of jumps and black runs. So assume rhythm would be more than enough for me, just wondered if for an extra 300 quid, as well as the front fork difference, if there was much in the spec between the SRAM bits and the shimano bite. Would like to here more....

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
When I seriously looked at buying one of these at the end of last year I came to the conclusion the +2 and £300 saving was the better bet - I prefer the (cheaper spares and less pernickety on setup) Shimano 11 speed vs GX 12 speed. Remember you will be going through more cassettes and chains on an ebike, so the cost of these items can make a difference in the long run. The supension on both is plenty good enough for a beginner/intermediate rider like me, but I much prefer the action and working on Shimano brakes because of their use of mineral oil, so that was a factor too. I also prefer the blue colour, but that's purely a matter of taste...