Feeling overbiked on a longer travel eMTB?

kafkastan

Aug 11, 2019
Brighton, UK
Hey -

Newbie here, having found the site while researching my first eMTB purchase and hoping for your collective sage wisdom on a particular query.

Now, were I buying another manual full-sus, I’d likely get a trail bike with 130-150mm travel. Realistically, given my questionable skills & limited bravery, I’d be overbiked on anything more and likely curse it on every climb.

However, the combination of cost and reviews has me tempted towards a Vitus e-Sommet VR, which at 170mm is much more enduro than I need – but looks like a lot of fun. (I realise they’re sold out for the year, but this will officially be an Xmas present from the wife, so I’ve both been dropping heavy hints to herself and quietly nursing my Wiggle discount ahead of the 2020 release.)

Anyhows, my query is, given climbing is so much easier, do you ever really feel overbiked on a longer-travel eMTB? Should I stick with the length of travel I’d opt for on a manual?

I’ve hired/ borrowed a few eMTBs, but none with more than 140mm travel as yet.

Ta muchly,

david

33red

Jun 12, 2019
Quebec, Canada
Choosing is personal so i can only offer my view.
The lighter = more bike feeling even more for a small rider like me. I got lucky i found for my first Ebike a 47 pounds. 120 mm HT and i love it. It has 40 mm rims so lots of traction. I would not see me on anything over 50 pounds. Also the price is better and it has very good components. The Enduro are designed for speed going down wich is not my focus. Do you enjoy climbing? technical sections? flowy sections? Do not buy the hype and do not trust the supposed review. Hopefully you get a real try, not just a quicky. Happy shopping.

kafkastan

Aug 11, 2019
Brighton, UK