E-Sommet VR on Order.... So, what do I need to know

Trailing Edge

May 15, 2019
UK
Hi All

I'm an E-bike newbie, in fact this is my second post. I've got an E-Sommet VR on order so I just thought I'd gather some collective wisdom on the bike.

What needs doing to it? Any pitfalls I need to know? Does it convert to tubeless well? What tyre pressures are people running tubeless?

Many Thanks
Tim

F-GODZ

Nov 30, 2018
United Kingdom
Common sense stuff really - Give it your own PDI as I had a few loose bolts and an incorrectly routed brake cable. Expect a bit swearing sorting out the dropper height :D

The glossy black paint scratches/scuffs really easy so helitape/invisiframe it if that's a worry.

Tubeless was easy (I use a compressor though), came with valves and the rim tape was good to go. I put a Rimpact insert in the rear as it's pretty rocky where I ride and it's harder to lift the rear end than on a regular bike.

Enjoy! :cool:

Trailing Edge

May 15, 2019
UK
Cool, thanks for the input! In what way is the dropper an issue? I’m used to a Reverb which tends to be trouble free. Does the Brand X have a particular quirk?

Cheers, Tim

smokey_jo

Patreon
Jun 28, 2018
Uk
Use the steps app to see if there's a firmware update for the motor, latest one smoothed the transition of how the motor switches on and off.

Inner tubes as supplied are heavy DH ones so tubeless is a must. You will need tape and sealant. Mine went up easy with a ghetto inflator and soapy water.

Spray some silicone spray or furniture polish on the dropper cable outer if it's reluctant to move initially, it might save you having to drop the motor.

Trailing Edge

May 15, 2019
UK
Use the steps app to see if there's a firmware update for the motor, latest one smoothed the transition of how the motor switches on and off.

Inner tubes as supplied are heavy DH ones so tubeless is a must. You will need tape and sealant. Mine went up easy with a ghetto inflator and soapy water.