Can't do flat pedals.

Marley

Jan 28, 2021
VA
Been riding with Shimano SPD's for over 20 years and thought I'd give flats a try on the Rail.
After only 1 ride, back to clipless as I found it to awkward.

As the saying goes.....can't teach an old dog new tricks.

head

Jul 2, 2020
Slovakia
I've been riding SPD for 10 years and then switched to flats to improve my technique. This year, after 4 and half years on flats I'm again on SPDs on my e-bike and still on flats on my dirt bike. Both platforms have their pros and cons.

Last edited:

Mteam

E*POWAH Elite
Aug 3, 2020
gone
I can't ride with spds, well I can but only on my road bike. A few years back (probably 12) I gave them a damn good go on my mountain bike, I must have persevered with them for 6 months but I've never had so many crashes, I took to wearing body armour as was crashing so much, so eventually i went back to flats and ditched the body armour, and all is right in the world again.

It's funny how some people who are so used to spds can't ride flats and vice versa.

mak

🦷
Dec 27, 2019
uk
I used to ride clipped in 20 years ago on my mtb, i had a small off and couldn't get unclipped so went over the bars and the bars stuck in my chest braking a rib, that was a painful 10 mile ride home.

Maybe clipped pedals have evolved over the years but since renewing my mtb passion albeit 20 years older in age its flats for me :)

Tonybro

🦾 The Bionic Man 🦿
Subscriber
Jan 15, 2021
Lancashire
I'm similar put am persevering. I have a problem with nerves in my legs, basically they don't work properly after I had to have spinal surgery. Minor paralysis in outer part of left calf and left foot so I wear a shin brace.