Almost done with pedals hitting things

Tim69

Feb 25, 2019
Israel
Dude, just change to 140mm cranks.

I have been riding this length for over 6 months now and guess what?

Virtually no more pedal strikes ;)

I started on 150mm and thought.... I wonder if I can go shorter?

Tried the 1mm and I am more than happy with them.
Yes, you will get loads of people on here saying it’s the wrong thing to do but it works for me (y)

It may work for you too ;)

You will never know until you try them

For less than £20 delivered in the UK (It may cost a bit more to deliver to you in Belgium) what have you got to lose?

I will post the links to the cranks and the self extracting bolts later on for you.

I have been thinking of buying some since I got my bike.. just wanted to give myself a chance to try and get used to it, maybe adjust to it... Hasn't happened yet..? anyway was all set to buy some when I saw a YouTube video on the subject, and somethings they said there worried me:
A. That your cadence increases..not that its such a bad thing..
B. That your standing " platform" when you stand on the bike, like going downhill is shorter and it reduces your stability.. this worried me.
What is your experience on these two points? Would love to know as I know you are know for promoting the use of shorter cranks... 140mm! Wow! That is extreme.. I was considering the 152s for my kenevo...
Thanks
Tim

Kiwi in Wales

Short cranks rule!🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 24, 2018
Carmarthen, Wales
I have been thinking of buying some since I got my bike.. just wanted to give myself a chance to try and get used to it, maybe adjust to it... Hasn't happened yet..? anyway was all set to buy some when I saw a YouTube video on the subject, and somethings they said there worried me:
A. That your cadence increases..not that its such a bad thing..
B. That your standing " platform" when you stand on the bike, like going downhill is shorter and it reduces your stability.. this worried me.